## END ALL LOGGING IN PUBLIC NATIVE FORESTS AND KOALA HABITAT.

## Dear Premier Chris Minns

Native forest logging continues to devastate koala habitat in NSW.

The Labor Party committed to protecting over 300,000ha of land for koalas in 2015.

Yet the NSW Government has failed to gazette the promised Great Koala National Park and will not end logging until forests can generate carbon credits.

Research by the Australia Institute and others has raised serious issues with the integrity of carbon credits and their use as offsets.

Victoria and Western Australia have already ended native forest logging.

The most economically efficient and environmentally responsible path for the NSW Government is to immediately:

1 // Gazette the boundaries of the Great Koala National Park, as promised.

2 // End all logging in public native forests and koala habitat.

3 // Abandon support for and plans to develop carbon credits associated with NSW forests.

We, the undersigned, call on the NSW Government to immediately end all logging in public native forests and koala habitat.

## No delay. No excuses. No carbon offsets.

**Bernie Fraser** Former Governor of the Reserve Bank of Australia; Former Chair of the Climate Change Authority

Emerita Prof Lesley Hughes Councillor & Director, Climate Council of Australia

**Emeritus Prof Simon Chapman AO** The University of Sydney

**Emeritus Prof Mark L Wahlqvist AO** Monash University

**Emeritus Prof David Shearman AM** The University of Adelaide

Emeritus Prof John Church University of New

Emeritus Prof Andrew Hopkins AO The

Australian National University

**Emeritus Prof Warren Yates** University of Technology Sydney

Emeritus Prof John King La Trobe University

**Distinguished Laureate Prof Nicholas J Talley AC** The University of Newcastle

**Distinguished Prof Terry Hughes** James Cook University

**Prof Peter Sainsbury** The University of Notre

Drof Meera Darish Monash University

**Prof Meera Parish** Monash University

**Prof Gareth Denyer** The University of Sydney

**Prof Hubertus Jersmann** The University of Adelaide

Prof Euan Ritchie Deakin University

**Prof Noel Castree** University of Technology Sydney

**Prof Adrian Barnett** Queensland University of Technology

**Prof Lynne Madden** University of Notre Dame; Doctors for the Environment Australia

**Prof Rob Moodie** University of Melbourne

Adjunct Prof James FitzSimons The Nature Conservancy; Deakin University, University of

Assoc Prof Mike Grace Monash University

**Assoc Prof Kenneth Winkel** The University of Melbourne

**Adjunct Assoc Prof Amaryll Perlesz** La Trobe University

**Assoc Prof Timothy Cohen** University of Wollongong

**Assoc Prof Robert Eisenberg** The University of Newcastle; Founder of Vote Earth Now

Assoc Prof Heather Fraser Queensland University of Technology

**Assoc Prof Tilman Ruff AO** The University of Melbourne

**Dr John Hewson AM** Former Leader of the Liberal Party; The Australian National University

**John Menadue AO** Former Secretary of the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

**Dr Bob Brown** Former Leader of the Australian Greens; President of the Board, Bob Brown Foundation

**Christine Milne AO** Former Leader of the Australian Greens; Global Greens Ambassador

**Dr Alex Wodak AM** Emeritus Consultant, St Vincent's Hospital

**Dr Michael Williams** Paediatrician

Dr Emma Campbell General Practitioner

Susie Russell Veteran Forests Campaigner

**Dr Grahame Douglas** President, National Parks Association NSW

Dr Sue Wareham OAM

Berish Bilander CEO, Green Music Australia

**Corinne Fagueret** Edmund Rice Centre for Justice & Community Education

Jill Redwood Environment East Gippsland

Annie Nielsen Parramatta Climate Action

Nic Seton CEO, Parents for Climate

Ross Knowles Chair, Ethinvest

Mark Graham Bellingen Nature Company

Kwabena Adiei Larbi Principal Lawver. Oak Legal

Assoc Prof Stuart Rosewarne The University of

Assoc Prof Jesper Levinsen Monash University

Assoc Prof Djuke Veldhuis Monash University

**Adjunct Assoc Prof Marion Carey** University of Notre Dame; Board Member, Doctors for the Environment Australia

**Honorary Prof Rick Cavicchioli** University of New South Wales

**Dr Nick Abel** Honorary Assoc Prof, The Australian National University

**Dr Peter W Tait** The Australian National University

**Dr Megan Evans** University of New South Wales

**Dr John Van Der Kallen** Past Chair, Doctors for the Environment Australia

**Dr Elizabeth Haworth** University of Tasmania

**Dr Cybele Dey** University of New South Wales; Doctors for the Environment Australia

**Dr Hugh Finn** Curtin University

**Dr Yung En Chee** The University of Melbourne

**Dr Lincoln Turner** Monash University

**Kylea Tink MP** Independent Member for North Sydney

Andrew Wilkie MP Independent Member for

**Senator Sarah Hanson-Young** Australian Greens Spokesperson for Environment & Water, Senator for South Australia

Senator Dr Mehreen Faruqi Australian Greens

**Senator David Shoebridge** Australian Greens Senator for NSW

**Senator Nick McKim** Australian Greens Senator for lutruwita/Tasmania

**Dr Rosalie Woodruff** Leader of the Tasmanian

Greens, Member for Franklin **Tamara Smith MP** Member for Ballina, NSW

Greens **Kobi Shetty MP** Member for Balmain, NSW

Jenny Leong MP Member for Newtown, NSW

Greens **Sue Higginson MLC** Member of the NSW

Legislative Council, NSW Greens

Cate Faehrmann MLC Member of the NSW
Legislative Council, NSW Greens

**Dr Amanda Cohn MLC** Member of the NSW Legislative Council, NSW Greens

**Abigail Boyd MLC** Member of the NSW Legislative Council, NSW Greens

**The Hon Emma Hurst MLC** Member of the NSW Legislative Council, Animal Justice Party

**The Hon Jeremy Buckingham MLC** Member of the NSW Legislative Council, Legalise Cannabis Party

Susan Austin Climate Action Hobart

**Elle Lawless** Executive Director, Conservation Council ACT Region

Naomi Derrick Clinical Nurse Consultant, RPA Green Light Institute, Royal Prince Alfred Hospital

**Alex Bhathal** National Director, Australian Association of Social Workers; La Trobe University

Dr Kylie McIntosh Bayside Climate Crisis Action Group

**Heather Kenway** South East Region Conservation Alliance

**Christine Carlisle** President, Environment Council of Central Queensland

**Geoff Cousins** Former President, Australian Conservation Foundation

**Dawn O'Neil AM** CEO, eWater Systems; Former CEO, Beyond Blue and Lifeline Australia; Board Member, LifeLine International

**Dr Nicole Sleeman** Doctors for the Environment Australia

**Dr Rosalie Schultz** Doctors for the Environment Australia

**Dr Stefanie Pidcock** Board Member, Doctors for the Environment Australia

Alec Marr Wilderness Australia

**Virginia Young** Board Director, Wilderness Australia

Trevor Scott Central Vic Climate Action

**Dr Richard Denniss** Executive Director, The Australia Institute

Meredith Stanton Australian Forests and Climate Alliance

Daniel Cash President, Lawyers for Forests

Piers Grove Executive Director, Start Some Good

**Dr David Morawetz** Founder and Director, Social

Tony Isaacson Isaacson Davis Foundation

Dr Deborah Edwards Art Historian and Curator

Dr Matthias Krups

Harriett Swift South East Region Conservation

John Pile Friends of Pine Creek

Ann Coyle Friends of Pine Creek

**Thea Ormerod** Chair, Australian Religious Response to Climate Change

Anna Cerneaz Graeme Wood Foundation

Graeme Wood AM Chair. Graeme Wood

Foundation **Dr Jennifer Sanger** The Tree Projects

**Dr Eric J Woehler OAM** Australasian Seabird Group

Roland Browne FitzGerald and Browne Lawyers

Jenny Weber Bob Brown Foundation

Amy Blain Peoples Climate Assembly



